3 months already

Tomorrow will be 3 months of being married to my best friend. So I want to take a few minutes and talk about what I have learned so far…

1. A full size bed will make for funny stories when you are married to a man who is 6 foot 3. We both are pretty stubborn about how it is the other person’s fault that we are pushed to the edge. I have to admit that there have been a few times that David has fallen off the bed in the middle of the night. It is really hard not to laugh and I am pretty sure those times were my fault. All the other times- no way! (My case doesn’t look good).  BUT in my defense, David weighs more and is taller; therefore, his side of the bed is slanted in his direction and if I face him I basically roll over to his side throughout the night. The point is- we need a bigger bed. It has made for some really funny stories.

2. Getting married is not nearly as scary as I thought it would be before I met David. It is so great knowing that whatever is to come, he will be by my side to face it with me. He has the ability to make a horrible day so much better just by hugging me when I get home. David is so good at giving me advice and holding me accountable. Being married to David is like having an amazing roommate, a best friend, and a soul mate, all wrapped up in one person. I love marriage. I have to say… the wedding was incredible- more than I ever could have wanted, but the marriage is so much better!!

3. I like to cook!!! I was scared that I would be terrible at it. I mean, I have cooked for myself for years but I was intimidated of the idea of someone else eating my food. For me couscous and grilled chicken was some pretty serious stuff. I just hadn’t used many recipes. Now (thanks to some help and recommendations from family and friends), I am actually enjoying making food for David. He is not the guy to never help in the cooking (I mean, he is even making waffles this morning)… it is simply that I really enjoy cooking. I guess it makes sense though considering how much I love health and nutrition. So I will share a recipe here….

This week I made a Zucchini Garden Chowder. A sweet lady at my work gave me this recipe from a seasonal veggies cookbook.

Sidenote: I am making a cookbook for WIC with healthy recipes for specific nutrient deficiencies. She gave me this recipe for my book and I couldn’t wait to try it!!

It is amazing and quite easy. The one thing I did learn from making it though was that it is NOT David’s fault when somehow the one key ingredient makes it onto my receipt and not into my home. I was not mad at him, but boy was I not a pleasant person to be around when I realized after I started cooking that I had to go back for onion.  I will work on being frustrated and then letting it go sooner next time! ha. Anyways… If you want a yummy, healthy, warm soup for the season… give this one a whirl and you won’t be disappointed.

Zucchini Garden Chowder

  • 2 Tablespoons butter

(Melt in soup pot over medium heat)

  • 1 Medium onion (Chopped)
  • 2 Tablespoons fresh Parsley (Chopped)
  • 1 Tablespoon fresh basil (Chopped, or 1 teaspoon dried)

Add Onions, Parsley, Basil and saute until smooth

  • 1/3 cup flour
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups water

Stir flour and seasonings into vegetables. Gradually stir in water to make a smooth stock.

  • 3 Chicken or Vegetable bouillion cubes
  • 1 Teaspoon lemon juice

Add and mix well. Bring to a boil; reduce heat and cook, stirring often, for 2 minutes.

  • 2 cups chopped tomatoes
  • 1.5 cups evaporated fat free milk
  • 2 cups fresh or frozen corn

Add and return to boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 5 minutes until corn is tender

  • 2 cups cheddar cheese (shredded)
  • ¼ cup Parmesan cheese

Just before serving, add and stir until melted. Add a pinch of sugar to taste and garnish with chopped fresh parsley.

mmmmmmmmmm…

4. It is very possible to get hooked on games with your husband that you never thought you would. David plays this game Halo… I always thought it was a silly boy thing, but now even when he is not home sometimes (gasp) I find myself playing it!! It is actually really fun! So now, we have a range of games to play together- bananas, nertz, halo, guitar hero etc. We love games! I have yet to play call of duty though. I still think it is too much for me, but we will see.

These are definitely not all of the things I have learned through marriage, but now I am hungry and like I said David is making waffles!!

So, I will just end by saying… being married to David has been the biggest blessing from my amazing God. He is so good and constantly gives gifts that I do not deserve. I am thankful beyond words.


Leave a comment